Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | September 11, 2012

One Lovely Blog Award

I’m delighted to announce that this blog has been nominated for the One Lovely Blog award.

The rules require me to thank the person who submitted the nomination, Rich Weatherly. Thank you, again, Rich.

The rules also require sharing seven things that are generally unknown to the public.

  1. I acted in the Greek Tragedy, Medea, in college. My costume (a spear-carrier) was once worn by the actor, Richard Boone, of Have Gun, Will Travel fame, in the same play, on Broadway.
  2. I was on the stage, in Shakespeare’s Hamlet, when my oldest son, Mike was born. At intermission someone told me, “It’s a boy!”
  3. I was a part of the Pershing Rifles drill team in college ROTC days.
  4. I studied an Okinawan style of karate, Shorin-ji Ryu for three years.
  5. I never got to go on R&R from Vietnam.  My ticket to Sydney, Australia was useless. No aircraft could come in or go out of Saigon.  The Tet Offensive was underway.
  6. I once held licenses for securities sales and financial advisory services.
  7. I currently have early partial drafts for a book in a new genre, for me: YA dystopian science fiction.

I’d like to also nominate the following sites for the One Lovely Blog award. These are in no particular order:

Please join me in visiting these fine sites and congratulating these talented people.


Responses

  1. Thanks for the acknowledgement and for the renomination! You’ve given us a good list of unknown tidbits and made some great nominations.
    It’s hard for me to single out one of the facts but I guess it would be learning of the birth of your son during Hamlet. 🙂

  2. Thank you so much, Tom! Quite a surprise, being that CF has been on hold for a few months. I agree with Rich about your blog nominations. So nice to see Rich in there, and the more recent IAN site.

    And such interesting tidbits! No R&R in Vietnam must have been brutal.

    Again, so kind of you.


Leave a comment

Categories