Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | May 1, 2016

Poem: Galileo Galilei, a Defense of Heliocentricism

A reblog from my friend Rich Weatherly. Speaks for itself!

Rich Weatherly - Author

Dear Reader, this is the first time I’ve personally posted my new award winning poem It placed 1st in the Poetry Society of Texas Performance Poetry Annual Competition. Credits follow the poem. The poem is written in the form of a Dramatic Monologue.

Galileo Galilei, a Defense of Heliocentricism

Thank you my dear friend Ferdinando for the honor of your presence.  To think that only seven of the ten cardinals of the inquisition voted for conviction of near heresy with threats of torture, puzzles me. I know, it could have been much worse, this house arrest brings such a burden of loneliness. I miss my daughter Marie Celeste. Her encouraging letters bring me more comfort than you can know. My mission is to make God’s design of the cosmos known to all men. Would that my oppressors could see Jupiter’s moons move in such synchronicity. If only they could see…

View original post 193 more words

Responses

  1. I appreciate your reblog, Tom!


Leave a Reply

Categories

