Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | March 8, 2015

A New Song

I wrote these lyrics several years ago, but his song has never been sung, except inside my head.  I “hear” the music but cannot write it down.  It comes, of course, from the 14th Chapter of John.

One day, I’ll collaborate with someone who can write down the music.  For now, these are the lyrics. The title is, The Way, The Truth and The Life.

*********

Adrift and alone, like on a trackless sea,

Without a Polar star to guide me home.

When storm clouds threaten on every side,

The voice of Jesus came across the years,

cutting through the gloom like brightest light.

I am the way, He said, come follow me.

I am the truth, He said, hear my voice.

I am the life, He said.

Follow me, I am the way.

Images and voices pound my eyes and ears,

Clashing in sounds both sweet and hard,

Doubt and confusion storm through the air.

What or who should I now believe?

Through all the noise, the words of Jesus come,

Calming the tumult like he calmed the waves.

I am the truth, He said, hear my voice.

Be at peace, don’t be afraid—listen to Me.

I am the truth, your unmoving point.

I am the way, the truth and the life.

I’ve heard His voice and I will follow.

His grace and love have rescued me.

He promised life with him forever,

In his Father’s house of many, many rooms.

I am the way, He said, come follow me.

I am the truth, He said, hear my voice.

I am the life, He said, come live with me

In my Father’s home throughout eternity.

Leave a Reply

Categories

