Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | December 11, 2014

A New Fable for Christmas

This fable came to me just a couple of hours ago.  I wondered if the shepherds who heard the angels sing had left anyone with the sheep and, if so, what had happened to that person.  This is the first installment.  I’ll post more tomorrow—when it’s written.

Update: June 22, 2015.  The shepherd boy is now named Joshua. I’ve done a bit of polishing on the text.

I think that I  need a better name for the story. Please comment or send me a direct message on Facebook. Thanks.

***********************************************

Joshua should have been cold, but the campfire was burning and he had a lamb snuggled on each side. His woolen cloak was enough. Besides, the wonders of the night still made him tingle.

The glory he had seen and the music he had heard were more than anything he’d known in all his nine years. Nothing would ever be the same.

Although he was alone with the sheep, he was not scared. After all that brilliant creature of light had said, “Don’t be afraid! I have good news for you, which will make everyone happy.”

Somehow, the deep feeling of peace had lingered. Then something pulled at his cloak and it wasn’t a lamb.

“Hello, are you lonely?”

When he turned around, Joshua saw a boy dressed in white robes smiling at him.

He was supposed to have been alone. The shepherds, including his uncle, had all gone into Bethlehem to see the wonder the brilliant creatures had told them about.

“Who are you and how did you get here?” Joshua said.

“Well, I’m called Jude. I came along with Gabe to sing in the choir.”

“All those creatures are gone. They left after they sang that wonderful music.”

“Those creatures, as you call them, are angels. They, or we, came to announce the birth of God’s own Son.”

“Are you an angel?”

“Yes. After we had gone back into heaven, Gabe—more formally known as Gabriel—looked back and saw that all the shepherds had hurried away to see the baby Jesus. They left you, alone, to watch the sheep. He was concerned that you might be afraid and sent me to be with you.”

Joshua had noticed that the robes Jude wore seemed much too white for a boy in the open country and they seemed to have a soft glow.

“I’m not afraid. Not now anyway,” he said.

Jude sat beside Joshua. The lamb on that side snuggled its head in his lap as if they were old friends.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. This story is a wonderful Christmas gift. Eagerly awaiting the next installment.

  2. There is always one of us in every crowd – I am it today – sorry. Angels do not sing. Nowhere in the Bible does it say they sing. They “say.” And they are all male. Excellent start on a great fable though. Marion

    • Tom – how can I remove my previous comment? It has bothered me since I put it in. I am very sorry. I really liked the fable especially the way you were writing it. I could picture it as usual with the way you put words together. Again, forgive me. Marion

      • Don’t worry about it. In this story, angels sing. Some say angels don’t have wings. Only once–that I can find–in The Bible are wings mentioned. Then the angel has six! Don’t worry about it!

  3. Thomas, I am in awe of you! What a wonderful story from a different perspective. Eagerly awaiting the next installment! Stephanie

    • Thank you Stephanie. I’m working on this morning’s segment. I hope you enjoy.

  4. Very interesting slant on this story, Tom. I like your style of writing and will stay tuned to see where it goes. BTW: I think angles can sig, and probably do it quite well (smile). With angles all things are possible.

    It’s been a long time since you and I chased the bad guys around in the jungle, eh? Sorry to hear about your accident. Again, another great story! Keep writing, my friend.

    • Thanks,Ray, it has been a long time, but doesn’t seem that way.

  5. Suggested title: Shepherd Boy’s Conversation with an Angel:
    learns about the Prince of Peace


Leave a Reply

Categories

