Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | June 17, 2013

The Service “Doubting Thomas” Provided

 

Thomas, the Apostle—yes, doubting Thomas— served Jesus Christ in many ways.

In an essay I wrote several years ago, I noted that Thomas helped Jesus teach the Disciples when he told them, in John 14: 3-4 , “And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.”

Probably most of the Apostles wanted to ask what Thomas did, when he said, “…Lord, we do not know where you are going. How can we know the way?” I can imagine that Jesus smiled at Thomas before he answered. “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” Thomas had asked the question that Jesus wanted to answer, for the sake of teaching all the Apostles.

Again, in John 11:7-8 when Jesus is told of Lazarus’ illness, He said to the disciples, “Let us go to Judea again.” The disciples said to him, “Rabbi, the Jews were just now seeking to stone you, and are you going there again?” With this, Thomas stood up again. “ So Thomas, called the Twin, said to his fellow disciples, ‘Let us also go, that we may die with him.’” Certainly, the one who has been called the doubter was no coward.

There is more, but first, let’s take a look at recent theories on The Resurrection. I recently read a short sermon delivered by a church’s pastor. When addressing The Resurrection, he seemed to doubt the physical nature of Christ’s return from the dead. The pastor referred to what hundreds of people of Jesus after the resurrection, as “…in some form.” That sermon began the thought process that led to this piece.

Thomas served The Lord in a way I’ve only now realized. When he was told, by the other Disciples, that they’d seen the risen Jesus, he famously said, “Unless I see in his hands the mark of the nails, and place my finger into the mark of the nails, and place my hand into his side, I will never believe.” Thomas demanded the physical touch of his Master for proof.

Of course, as John 20 continues, Jesus joined the Disciples in the locked room eight days later and turning to Thomas, said, “Put your finger here, and see my hands; and put out your hand, and place it in my side. Do not disbelieve, but believe.”Then in verse 28, “ Thomas answered him, ‘My Lord and my God!’”Once more, Thomas served our Lord. His doubting and Jesus’ response are clear. Jesus was resurrected in physical as well as spiritual form. Thomas helped provide, for all time, the physical proof needed. Thomas’ wish for absolute proof was the catalyst that Jesus used to allay any doubts that the other Apostles may have had. They also tell us, today, that Jesus’ resurrection was both a physical, as well as a spiritual, event.

Do not doubt, believe.

 

Responses

  1. Well said, Thomas. That the apostle Thomas doubted and expressed his doubt adds to his credibility when he proclaims, ‘My Lord and my God!’


Leave a Reply

Categories

