Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | February 7, 2013

Meet Nadia Bashoo: A Special Woman with A Special Gift

Note: Nadia is British. Her spelling is that of Great Britain.

T. Hello, welcome to Pinnacle Writing. Tell us a bit about yourself.

N. I’m blind and I write using a speech software programme which enables me to use a computer as anyone else would. I write Young Adult Fantasy and I currently have three novels published, with another due for release in February.

T. When did you start writing?

N. I’ve always made up stories from being little and I wrote some of them down, but I didn’t start writing properly until I was 21, ten years ago, now!

T. Please tell us about your current book. What is the genre?  Give us a thumbnail sketch.

N. My latest book is called Wolfsong. It’s the story of two warring werewolf packs and a human girl unwittingly caught up in their fight. It’s a stand-alone novel and I guess it would come under paranormal fantasy, but I always try and make sure each book I write is completely different. The only thing my books have in common is the target audience. I try all sorts of different fantasy genres.
T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or works in progress?

N. I’m currently writing the first in what I hope will be a trilogy based in Camelot during and after the reign of King Arthur. I’m also working on a dystopian series and a novel based around the legend of Pandora’s box.

T. What are your writing habits? Are you an outliner or do you write “by the seat of your pants?”

N. The latter, I’m afraid. I keep trying to plan but the novel always shoots off in unforeseen directions. I have a basic idea of what needs to happen and I always know the ending. I let the rest take care of itself, which means periods of writer’s block are plentiful.
T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?
N. It’s a growing trend, and with agents and mainstream publishers being less than helpful with their “feedback” it’s no wonder. I think it will eventually change the whole face of publishing as more and more Authors decide to go it alone. It’s hard on your own though. All promotion is up to you. There’s no one to do it for you. It requires time and patience, often for little reward. The key is not to give up and never lose sight of why you started writing in the first place.

T. Thank you for visiting with us. You, and your work, are  inspirations to writers and readers.

Responses

  1. Enjoyed the interview Thomas and Nadia. Interesting stories you have to tell. I have an author friend with similar vision issues who uses voice transcription software.
    Thank you for sharing 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

