Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | August 12, 2012

“The Mindful Son,” by James Hickman

The following interview is with James Hickman, author of The Mindful Son. Jim contacted me months ago about editing his autobiographical book. I was, at first, skeptical, because I’ve never worked on editing anything but fiction.  Then I started reading his story.  I was hooked.  Jim has a personal story that could be translated into an uplifting movie.

As an editor, I observed Jim’s work to make his book more compelling and clearer for readers. I’m proud to say I’ve been a part of helping him make The Mindful Son a book that says to readers, “Never give up.”

T. Hello, Jim, welcome to Pinnacle Writing. Tell everyone a bit about yourself.

J.  Hi, I’m James Hickman. I work as a psychotherapist at the Huntsville/Madison County Mental Health Center [AL] and I live with schizophrenia. I recently wrote a motivational autobiography in which I describe how I overcame mental illness and other obstacles.

T. When did you start writing?

J.  I began writing my book, The Mindful Son, a little over five years ago.

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor? Tell us about him/her.

J.  Thomas Drinkard, the man interviewing me now, lol, helped me most in terms of teaching me how to write in a compelling way. The book Stein on Writing was also helpful.

T. Please tell us about your current book. What is the genre Give us a thumbnail sketch.

J. The Mindful Son: A Beacon of Hope through the Storm of Mental Illness, is a motivational autobiography in which I discuss my own struggle with mental illness, as well as coping with a family member who has mental illness. It’s primarily designed to inspire others to be their best.

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress? Other projects?

J. I have a prequel which has practically written itself, during the course of writing The Mindful Son. I don’t know when it will be published though, as I am extremely busy publicizing the current book.

T. What are your writing habits? Are you an outliner or do you write “by the seat of your pants?

J. The type of writing I do, is done primarily in a chronological manner.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

J. I think it’s the wave of the future and believe that I need to work steadfastly to make my book available in a digital format. I don’t think that people have lost their zeal for paper books though, and don’t foresee them going by the wayside, entirely, any time soon.

T. Anything else to share?

J. I am available to speak to your organization. You can get in touch with me, or purchase the book, through http://stores.intuitwebsites.com/JHickman0/StoreFront.bokcom.

T. Thank you for visiting, it’s been a pleasure to have you on the blog.

J. Always a pleasure to talk to you Tom.

Leave a Reply

Categories

