Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | May 4, 2012

Day 7 – Rehab Journal

My early-morning visitor lived next door.

As I look at the wall in front of me—left to right—there’s a door into a shared bathroom; an inset of four drawers with a mirror above; then there are double doors that open on a broad closet. All of that dampens sound from the room next door.

When one is seated on the throne (bathroom) the sounds from the next room come in quite clearly.  My unexpected visitor, from Journal Entry 6, sings.

Early this morning, while seated and thinking deep thoughts about, um…, the meaning of life and post-Einstienian string theory (sure), the man began with, “Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord…”  I’ve know for some time that there were six verses and could even quote three.  Raise your hand if you knew this one I found at Wikipedia.

“I have read a fiery gospel writ in burnished rows of steel:
    “As ye deal with my contemners, so with you my grace shall deal;
    Let the Hero, born of woman, crush the serpent with his heel,
    Since God is marching on.”

By the way, “contemn” is a verb meaning to treat with contempt.  I guess the modern equivalent is disses. Contemn is an archaic word so don’t use it in your next posting, either.

On to the story: My neighbor knew (and sang) all the verses. By the time I’d completed my contemplations, he’d started in on some golden oldies. When I shut the bathroom door behind me, he was working on Let Me Call You Sweetheart.

Found that my singing neighbor left sometime around noon. As I consider the matter, it’s fortunate that I wasn’t put in a room with the singer, I may have found yet another use for the backscratcher.

Responses

  1. Since I was visiting you when the melody began, I must also comment. I believe your visitor of yesterday/the neighbor was merely put in the singing mood by the harmonica player somewhere down the hall. There are far worse sounds than these to be certain.


Leave a Reply

Categories

