Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | May 3, 2012

Day 6 Rehab Journal — Unexpected Visitor

The day started on the routine note of one of the CNAs coming in to refresh the water pitcher at six o’clock.

I’d just found that little spot in my brain and body that, like a personal canoe, drifts out on the sleepy lake and takes me to the cove of deep slumber.

Someone knocked at the door. I glanced at the clock; 6:30”“

“Come in,” I said.

A medium-sized man, wearing a cloth hat and pajamas, shuffled in and asked my name. When  I told him, he appeared satisfied and sat in the visitor’s chair, smiling. After 5 seconds with no greetings, he asked the question that had brought him.

“You’re the writer.”

“Yes, I am,” I said.

He was clutching a pen and a piece of paper.

“I want to get a copy of all your books, for my collection,” he said.

I explained that I hadn’t yet had any of my book printed,  but that were several ways to read them in digital form. He listened intently to my explanations, then told me that he’d have go to Wal-Mart and get an iPad.

“That’s a great idea. Bring it back here and I’ll show you how to use it,”

Almost immediately after he sat, a CNA arrived with a tray and I’d been in the process of getting ready to eat breakfast. He just sat and watched.
I tried to talk to him about various world events and  as an excuse, to ask him if
he’d had breakfast.

Just then, one of the staff came in. She stood, clipboard held across her chest as she chattered along about the weather.  She stood behind the man’s chair and rolled huge brown eyes at him.

“Mr. North, (pseudonym) your breakfast is waiting for you.”

As she led my visitor out the door, she flashed a big smile.

I was hoping to have a few book sales, but the man’s presence, and unchecked would keep me from writing.  Maybe he’ll go to another room  tomorrow, at 6:30 he’ll come in carrying an iPad…, check back.

Responses

  1. You never know… he might do just that! Important note here: they are obviously talking about you – “The Writer!” My last hospitalization did bring me some sales (I do have hard copy of Dagon’s Blood). Seems important to them that they meet we authors, exciting even! My, my… You’ve got to smile! 😉 Glad to hear/see/read your progress in this strange new world you’re in. Having been there myself, I know all too well the waves on this lake you speak of. Happy too that its just a “visit” and you’ll be home again. God bless.


Leave a Reply

Categories

