Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | February 2, 2012

Meet Micheal Rivers, Author of “The Black Witch”

 

T. Hello, Micheal, welcome to Pinnacle Writing. Thank you for pausing in your writing to visit. Give us a bit of background.

M. Hello Thomas, I am a paranormal thriller writer residing in the mountains of Western North Carolina. Before returning to North Carolina I was working in EMS in the city of Chicago. I am the lead investigator and founder of Smoky Mountain Paranormal with over thirty years experience investigating hauntings and collecting stories. I served my country as a United States Marine during the Vietnam War.

T. When did you start writing?

M. Exactly when the words began to flow I am not really sure. Just like a thousand others the writing bug struck and refused to leave. My first official publication was in 1992.

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor? Tell us about him/her.

M. I would have to say my favorite teacher was D. Powell. She was the type of person who personified the visions of being a true believer in her students. She was highly respected by everyone and taught me, above all else, to believe in the power and beauty of the written word. Teachers rarely get the recognition they deserve. She will never be forgotten here.

T. I know you’ve published The Black Witch, please tell us what you’re currently working on. What is the genre? Give us a thumbnail sketch.

M. I am currently in the process of finishing a new paranormal thriller titled Verliege, which is due to be published within the next couple of months. This is the story of a man who has been convicted of killing his wife with unusual circumstances surrounding the case. The final round, for those trying to prove his innocence, is when they find what is least expected in our world today. 

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?

M. I believe there may be a sequel to this book, it hasn’t been decided yet. The outline is in place if my readers decide they would like to hear more of this unusual tale.

T. What are your writing habits? Are you an outliner or do you write “by the seat of your pants?

M. I use an outline to begin the basis of every book. My story board is the most important factor involved with my writing. This affords me the opportunity to go in any direction I choose without having to chain myself to a single line of thought. The outline steadily changes and is modified to give me a direction I wish to proceed with. Just like life, as the story changes, so does the outline.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

M. I sincerely believe the digital market will be even greater than it is today. I do not feel digitally published books will ever completely replace brick and mortar publishing or printed books entirely. This society we live in today is a modern society with most people being raised in the world of technology. For the convenience and the ability to have a wider variety of books at your finger tips digital publishing will always be in demand. Brick and mortar publishing will eventually have to assimilate to stay in the industry.

T. Anything else to share?

M. I would like everyone to become an advocate for the promotion of helping our children read. This is a very worthy cause and will carry our children into a future where they will be able to expand their minds beyond the limits of a computer screen. Where else can they slay the dragon, travel through space, or stand beside the heroes who gave us the freedom of the world we live in today?

T. Thank you.

M. Thank you for having me with you today and all my best to you and your readers.

Responses

  1. Nice interview!

    -Neal

  2. Thanks Thomas for the excellent opportunity to be interviewed. You have a great site here!

    • My pleasure, Micheal. I’ll post a review of “Black Witch” here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

