Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | January 21, 2012

Meet Jen Wylie

T. Hello, welcome to Pinnacle Writing. Thanks for visiting.Tell us a bit about yourself.

J. Hi Thomas! Thanks so much for having me today! 🙂 I’m a mom of two darling boys. When I’m not reading or writing (or editing) I putter about with various crafts. Otherwise I try to be Supermom and keep my chaotic house in some semblance of order. I suppose I should also note I live in Ontario, Canada. Yes, we get a lot of snow. I dislike snow. 😛

T. When did you start writing?

J. I started writing in public school, but really got into it in high school. It was just something I wanted to do, needed to do. I have so many stories in my head and they need to come out. I did go to university and got a degree, however things happen, as they tend to do, and I ended up being a Mom rather than finding a career. I wouldn’t change that for the world. I didn’t write for a number of years when the kids were little but once they were a bit older, and my brain started functioning again, the need to write came back. Writing is something I can do from home, so I certainly lucked out there. 🙂

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor? Tell us about him/her.

J. I don’t really have any teachers/mentors. I’ve just always loved reading and writing and it just comes to me. My first publisher Echelon Press was really supportive and taught me so much on editing and publishing. I have too many favorite authors to count, and too many supportive loved ones and friends to mention. 🙂 I’m a lucky girl I guess.

T. Please tell us about your current book. What is the genre? Give us a thumbnail sketch.

J. My debut novel, which came out in June (Echelon Press), is a fantasy (with romance) called Sweet Light. It’s a mix of fantasy, action, love and twists. It takes place in a made up world set back in the times of castles and swords. The main character is 16-year-old Shara, who is a Healer. She travels north to work in a foreign kingdoms castle and things become complicated, both with a war that breaks out, and with various men who fall in love with her.

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?

J. The sequel, Dark Madness, has been written and I’m starting edits on it soon. It continues the story when the war gets into full swing. Because of this, it is a much darker tale.

T. What are your writing habits? Are you an outliner or do you write “by the seat of your pants?

J. I’m a total pantser. 🙂 Stories appear in my head kind of like a movie, and I write as they form. I do very little outlining, except when I’m getting close to the end. I do make a lot of notes while I am writing, so I keep characters, places, plots etc straight. Occasionally I write in circles, doing scenes out of order, so notes help with that.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

J. I hate to sound like an activist, but why kill trees? I know a lot of diehard book fans still love the feel and smell of a real book in their hands (I do too occasionally), but technology is winning over even the most adamant stalwarts. eReaders are sleek, sexy, and fun. The biggest win they have is the ability to hold an entire library in your back pocket instead of filling up an entire room of bookshelves. Even the price of ebooks versus even paperbacks makes them more appealing. Digital publishing is going to dominate the world. Looking at it from the publishing standpoint is another whole ball of wax. The big publishers are migrating toward ebook publications; smaller presses are popping up daily. We live in a new world.

T. Anything else to share?

J. 2012 is looking to be a wonderful year. I have a number of short stories coming out with Echelon Press. I’m also currently working on edits for a new YA fantasy novel, Broken Aro, which is contracted to Hadley Rille Press and scheduled for an October release. Hopefully Sweet Light’s sequel will come out, along with some other short stories I’ve written and (yes there’s more) I’m in the planning stages with other authors for a book and some short stories. It will be a very busy year! (I need a clone!)

T. Thank you for visiting and sharing with us. Best of fortune for 2012. Keep us up-to-date on your books.

J. You’re most welcome, and thank you!

Responses

  1. Thanks so much having me today Thomas!!

  2. Nice interview, Jen. I really enjoyed the Echo stories so I’m looking forward to Sweet Light. Off to buy it now. Hope you have terrific sales!

    • Thanks for taking a look. I’m getting a copy, too.

  3. Jen, I agree with your comments about the future of publishing and especially like your question “why kill trees?” Best of luck with the marketing of your new novel, Dark Madness.
    Tom, thanks for hosting Ms. Wylie today for our pleasure.


Leave a Reply

Categories

