Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | January 6, 2012

Writing Out of Sequence

Trying something new (for me) today. I’ve written a climactic scene out of sequence. I stopped writing one scene and skipped two or three.

Hey, I know what’s going to happen between the place where I stopped and the scene I just finished (about 1,000 words). So now that I’ve committed to the major scene, all I have to do is to make sure that the words in between the scenes are consistent with the action. The connective tissue…

I’ve read that Hollywood films scenes out of sequence for a number of reasons; weather, actor availability (or tantrums), and logistics. There’s no logical reason a writer can’t do the same thing. Besides, this scene has been in dreams and middle-of-the-night writing stages for at least a week.

When I publish the book, the second in the V Trooper series, I’ll identify the scene on this blog.

Happy writing this weekend.

Responses

  1. I like this, Tom! I usually get bogged down when I know I have a less exciting scene to write, and sometimes I balk for a few days, knowing it won’t be as “fun” as the last scene. LOL. But sometimes we need transition scenes that aren’t quite as glamorous as the chase scenes! Great article!

    • My friend, Anne George, called the process of writing the connective tissue, “…trudging…” and said the writer has to make it as interesting as possible. Maybe writing the exciting scene first intensifies the “trudging.”

      • Love that. “Trudging.” Perfect!

  2. I began using Scrivener last year and found myself jumping around in my WIP, which was new for me. There are pluses and minuses. On the plus side, you can write a scene when you’re “in the mood.” When it flows. However, it’s been difficult for me to see the big picture, the overall flow of the novel.

    • In that case, at least a minimal outline might be in order. I’m still writing the connective chapters that brings the book to a climax. It’s just that the final confrontation was speaking to me.
      Do you like Scrivener?


Leave a Reply

Categories

