Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | December 4, 2011

Our Visitor, Eric B. Thomasma, Author of Seams 16

T. Hello, Eric, welcome to Pinnacle Writing. Tell us a bit about yourself.

E. Hello, and thank you for inviting me. I am a husband, father of two grown sons, and the author of the SEAMS16 series of books, as well as two children’s books.

T. When did you start writing?

E. A very short time ago, relatively speaking. I started my first novel while my dad was battling cancer in 2007. Sadly, he lost that battle in 2008 before I finished writing it, but I like to think he would approve.

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor? Tell us about him/her.

E. Not as such. My mother was probably the greatest influence when it comes to my writing. It’s primarily because of her and her (seemingly) constant corrections (nagging?) that I developed the vocabulary and grammar skills that I have, (Thanks Mom!)

T. Please tell us about your current book. What is the genre? Give us a thumbnail sketch.

E. I’m currently working on the fourth book in the SEAMS16 Sci-Fi series. Each book is a self-contained story, but there is definitely a continuity to the first two, A New Home and Arrival. The third, And So It Begins…, was written as a stand alone novel that takes place roughly 1000 years before the others. This current work in progress is a return to the continuity of the first two.

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?

E. I have ideas for at least one more out-of-sequence novel, and I have an idea of how I want the series to end, so more sequels seem inevitable.

T. What are your writing habits? Are you an outliner or do you write “by the seat of your pants?”

E. I’m a “pantser”. I wrote an outline for the first novel, but by the second page, it was no longer relevant. Since then, I have written as the story unfolds before me. It’s fun finishing a writing session not knowing what’s going to happen when you return.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

E. Hopefully, someone will come up with a way to keep an illustration on the screen while scrolling the text. Part of the magic of reading to pre-readers is to have them look at the pictures while you read the words. Unfortunately, the current ebook formats have to remove the illustration when reading the text. Especially when using larger fonts. That, and non-backlit color screens would make e-readers perfect for children’s books as well as novels.

T. Sounds like something for Apple or Amazon to look into. Anything else to share?

E. My first children’s book, Sam and the Dragon, was recently selected to be included in the KART Foundation’s 2011 Kids Book List. It’s quite an honor to have been one of only 32 books selected from over 1000 submissions. I’ve also written a third children’s book that my illustrator (my brother) is currently working on. I saw some of the preliminary sketches and it looks like it’s shaping up to be another fun one.

T. Thank you for visiting, Eric.

E. Thank you for inviting me.

Responses

  1. Fun and informative interview by both parties. I like Eric’s comment where he calls himself a “panster”, a guy who flies by the seat of his pants, no outline type of writer. Thanks for posting this, Pinnacle Writing.
    Ron Rutler


Leave a Reply

Categories

