Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | October 26, 2011

Meet Glenn Gamble on a Stop of HIs Blog Tour


Glenn Gamble stopped by the blog and told us about himself and his book. Let’s talk to him.

T. Hello, welcome to Pinnacle Writing. Tell us a bit about yourself.

G. This has got to be the hardest question to answer. Should I say something crazy or should I give a generic about me… hmmm?

I’m a lifelong Chicagoan who went to Luther High School South and Lindblom Technical High School. I also spent two years at Southern Illinois University Carbondale before I realized that I no longer wanted to go to college, so I dropped out, got a job, got dissatisfied with that, learned how to play poker and made my living as a professional gambler for 2 years before I pissed away my bankroll, went back to work and somewhere in-between that, I got this crazy idea that I should become a writer and I did.

T. When did you start writing?

G. I started writing songs as a high school senior. I wanted to pursue a career as a musician, but the birthday candles started piling up on me and I could no longer justify pursuing a profession where I would be competing with Justin Bieber for the attention of 13 year old girls which didn’t make me feel right. I wanted to be an actor until Charlie Sheen wouldn’t let me smoke crack with him, so writing kinda found me.

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor? Tell us about him/her.

G. Mr. Joe Beatty, my English teacher freshman year of high school. He made us write a one page paper on what I did this summer. When he read my obvious lies aloud, my classmates had knots in their stomachs from laughing so hard. At that point, I knew that I could write, but I still didn’t want to write books because I never saw myself writing anything that was 300 pages since I was lazy in high school. With that said, Mr. Beatty made writing and made freshman English class fun. Little did I know that his class would be the foundation for my wild imagination.

T. Please tell us about your current book. What is the genre? Give us a thumbnail sketch.

G. Jim Money bites off more than he can chew when he goes to collect a gambling debt. He’s beaten, shot at, finds out that his girlfriend is involved with his best friend, and is forced to work with a woman he despises all in one day.

In trying to discover what is going on, a more sinister truth is brought to light.

THE PLAYERS:

Jim is a loan shark who wants nothing more than to ease out of his criminal lifestyle, marry his girlfriend and start a family.

Jessica is Jim’s unreliable girlfriend who runs off with his best friend for an inexplicable reason.

Steve is Jim’s best friend and enforcer. He’s animal-like, and a deadbeat’s worst nightmare.

Carla is Steve’s tough as nails wife and who has a nose for detecting anything out of the ordinary. Jim disgusts her, but she ends up teaming with him to find the answers that she’s NOT looking for.

Chuck is a deadbeat who refuses to pay back money owed to Jim and almost gets him killed.

James is Chuck’s hotheaded younger brother who destroys first and never ask questions.

THIS IS THE FIRST INSTALLMENT IN THE JIM MONEY SERIES.

Bon Appétit

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?

G. Yes, I’m currently working on a prequel which is Busted. It should be published 2 weeks after this interview is posted. Busted is a prequel that takes you into Jim Money’s freshman year in college when he starts gambling for money and encounters his first obstacle when three men walk in Jim’s illegal card game and order him to pay a 70% tax to operate in Carbondale, IL. This is his first time dealing with an opposing, hardened criminal. You get to see Jim’s immaturity, his lack of self-assurance, and his struggle to figure out what he needs to do next.

T. What are your writing habits? Are you an outliner or do you write “by the seat of your pants?

G. I’m definitely an outliner with an open mind. I always write a scratch outline with a list of events that will happen in each chapter, and then I start writing. As I get into writing the story, sometimes I decide that the outline needs to be adjusted to accommodate new ideas.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

G. I’m not a good prognosticator, but I do think that Amazon and Nook will incorporate a Netflix model for some titles. Publishers would have to license certain titles to Amazon for subscription, and I think books will always be sold one unit at a time –as they are now- and some will be included in a subscription of some sort. Anyone who has a Netflix account knows that for $8 per month, their subscription doesn’t include new releases.

T. Anything else to share?

G. I don’t have cooties.

That, and you can check out books, all of which are available on Amazon Kindle http://www.amazon.com/Glenn-Gamble/e/B002BMGSVK and Barnes and Noble Nook http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Glenn-Gamble?keyword=Glenn+Gamble&store=allproducts and Smashwords http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/glenngamble and most recently in the iBookstore for all you iPhone, iPad and iPod users.

T. Thank you for visiting on your blog tour .

Leave a Reply

Categories

