Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | July 15, 2011

Meet Lisa Carroll, Author of the “Lor Mandela” Series

I’m pleased to introduce Lisa Carroll, author of the Lor Mandela series.

Hello, Lisa, welcome to the blog!

L. Hi Thomas! Thank you for helping out with the Four Hundred Hours to Four Hundred Days Blog Party!

T. Hope it’s going well. Please introduce yourself.

L. Well, let’s see. I’m a wife to a wonderful guy and we have five children ranging from 22 down to 13 years of age, (four of which are still at home). I am the author of the Lor Mandela Series, a YA fantasy trilogy. The first book, “Destruction from Twins” has been available for about a year now, and the second, Four Hundred Days  releases TODAY!!!

T. When did you start writing?

L. I started about eight years ago. I had an awesome dream one night about a lovely young woman who was engaged in a huge battle, and doing very well considering how outnumbered she was. Just as the fighting was about to take a tragic turn, she raised her sword skyward and shouted something cryptic. There was a flash of light, and everyone around her disappeared.

When I woke the following morning, my first thought was, “That would make an epic scene in a movie, or a really cool chapter of a book.” My very next thought went something like, “I wonder if I could actually write a book myself.” That day, my fingers hit the keyboard!

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor? Tell us about him/her.

L. This is going to sound a little strange, but it wasn’t a writing teacher that planted the “you should be an author” seed; it was actually my tenth grade humanities teacher. (Of course, five of her seven daily classes were English classes). I turned in a report…I believe it was on Hinduism, and she put one of those dreaded, “See me” comments on the top. After class, we chatted, and she told me that my writing was some of the best she’d seen. (Boy, was I relieved!) Anyway, I doubt I would have ever had that initial, “I wonder” thought, had it not been for her encouragement.

T. Please tell us about your current book; genre and blurb.

L. My current book is called Four Hundred Days, and it is the second in my YA Fantasy series, Lor Mandela. Here’s a short synopsis for your reading enjoyment:

When the heiress to the Lor Mandelan throne sneaks away to Earth, she finds that an evil tyrant is obliterating towns and cities just to get her to surrender to him.

Book #2 in the Lor Mandela Series is a whirlwind of intrigue and fantasy. Join the characters from the first book, (both the good and the evil), as they traverse the haunted corridors of Alcatraz Penitentiary; travel to an ancient castle on the cliff shores of Ireland; and discover that on Lor Mandela, friends may be foes, enemies can become allies, and just because someone dies, it doesn’t always mean that they’re dead.

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?

L. Funny you should ask. Actually, I have both. My first book, Destruction from Twins is the prequel to this one, and I have started working on the third book. (The title is still TOP SECRET!)

T. What are your writing habits? Are you an outliner or do you write “by the seat of your pants?

L. I have some of the weirdest habits that I know of. I always act out a scene before I write it, to help with the flow and believability. I also have a pair of “Crazy Lady Glasses” that I sometimes wear to put me into the “Wacky Author” role. As far as outlining vs. seat of pants goes, I am a firm believer in outlining, and then writing by the seat of your pants. Take “Four Hundred Days” for example. I had a full (and pretty detailed) outline put together before I started writing, but it went through so many revisions along the way, that I doubt it would even be recognizable as the same story! The outline seemed to keep me on track as far as the vital elements of the book, but beyond that, it was ALL by my back pockets!

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

L. There’s a part of me that dies a little when I ponder the end of books, as we’ve known them. However, I’m not entirely sure that digital will make printed books entirely obsolete. I don’t think it will be like, say, VHS tapes vs. DVD. (You don’t really hear of “Collectible VHS stores” much, but “Collectible Bookstores”…?) There will be those out there who will still value having printed editions of their favorite books, and who want something to fill their big library bookshelves. BUT, let’s face it; reading a book on a Kindle or Nook is more convenient, and more cost effective. (Not to mention kinder to trees, and I LIKE trees.)
I believe that the shift we’re going to (continue to) see is the quantity of digital sales skyrocketing and the sales of printed books dwindling. As long as they continue to make Kindle covers that look like books, I guess I’ll be okay!

T. Anything else to share?

L. First, I really appreciate you having me on your blog today. It’s been a lot of fun answering your questions!

Next, I’d like to invite everyone to check out the Lor Mandela Series on my http://www.lormandela.com  or http://www.lormandela.blogspot.com

Thanks again, Thomas!

T.Thank you for sharing with us. Best of good fortune with your books!

Responses

  1. Great interview, Lisa. I read the first part of Lor Mandela and the new book is on my “to read” list. Looking forward to it!
    Christa


Leave a Reply

Categories

