Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | July 4, 2011

“Fighting the Devil” Interview with Jeannie Walker

T. Hello Jeannie, thanks for dropping by the blog. Tell us a bit about your background.

JW: I am an author, freelance writer and award winning songwriter. I studied creative writing in New York and Connecticut and I’m a member of the International Association of Writers. I am an avid reader of mystery novels. I wrote a true crime story about the murder of my ex-husband, a Texas millionaire, who was poisoned to death. Fighting the Devil is a Finalist in the true crime genre of Fore Word Reviews 2010 Book of the Year Awards. ForeWord Clarion Reviews also gave my book a 5 Star Rating. My website is: http://jeanniewalkerbooks.com

T. When did you start writing?

JW: I began writing in junior high school, when we had to write book reports after reading novels assigned by our English teacher. Most of the reading and writing I did was in school. Growing up on a farm didn’t leave a lot of time for anything else. Any spare time I got, I spent outside sitting under a big oak tree enjoying nature, writing down my thoughts and reading a good book.

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor? Tell us about him/her.

JW: My English teacher at Lone Wolf, Oklahoma was a big influence in my life. Mrs. Sarah Schreiner encouraged all her students to excel in reading and writing. I worked hard to achieve excellence and make straight A’s because of the respect I had for Mrs. Schreiner and my other teachers in school. I am in contact with her today. We email each other to keep in touch. She is still an inspiration to me.

T. Please tell us about your current book; genre and blurb.

JW: “Fighting the Devil” – A True Story of Consuming Passion, Deadly Poison, and Murder is a true crime story, depicted the way it really happened with factual accounts, information and recollections.
I wrote the book to speak for my ex-husband who no longer has a voice. He was poisoned and died a slow, painful death.
Book Description: In the midst of Texas ranch country, on a quiet and peaceful spring day in 1990, a 49-year-old millionaire rancher sat down to lunch with his wife and bookkeeper, as he often did. Less than half an hour later, he was deathly ill, with stomach pains, severe vomiting and intense intestinal distress. Three weeks later, he was dead from a mysterious illness. His wife seemed to show no emotion when she learned of his death. However, his bookkeeper became very nervous and upset upon hearing the news, and ran through the hospital corridor to the elevator.
The Texas millionaire rancher discovered his wife and bookkeeper had stolen thousands of dollars from him. After he demanded the money back, he started getting sick. While in the hospital, doctors were mystified as to how an otherwise healthy, energetic man could become so deathly ill. The dying man told everyone within earshot that his wife and bookkeeper were killing him. The man’s wife said her husband was hallucinating from drugs the doctors were giving him. The millionaire rancher succumbed in the hospital while strapped down to his bed with restraints on his hands and feet and tubes in every orifice. After the rancher died, an anonymous caller tipped off the police. The widow was the sole beneficiary of the estate and a $350,000 life insurance policy. A week before the man’s death, a teenager visited the rancher’s home and became deathly ill after he drank juice that was in the rancher’s refrigerator. Two years after the millionaire’s death, a bottle of arsenic was found in a storage locker rented by a woman under an assumed name. The millionaire’s ex-wife, the mother of his children, became a sleuth to help solve the murder. No one could have predicted the aftermath with its strange twists and unexpected results.

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?

JW: The murder case I wrote about is still an open murder case. There is another suspect that has not been brought to justice. I am hoping to have a sequel, but it depends on whether or not we get additional evidence. Additionally, I want fans of crime stories to realize that if their lives are ever touched by anything as horrific as a murder, “they have the ability and right to become their loved one’s advocate, and to become their own, real-life Sherlock Holmes.

T. What are your writing habits? Are you an outliner or do you write “by the seat of your pants?

JW: I write from an outline, but I have to admit sometimes I do write by the seat of my pants.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

JW: I think it has a bright future. Most everyone likes to read, whether it is an ebook or a paperback is a personal preference. Reading and writing is ingrained in most of us from childhood either by our parents or by dedicated teachers in school.

T. Anything else to share?

JW: Just that we shouldn’t give up, no matter how hard things become. There can be a bright future for all of us, if we believe and do our best to succeed. Thank you.

T. Thank you, Jeannie, it has been a pleasure.

Responses

  1. Loved the interview!


Leave a Reply

Categories

