Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | June 15, 2011

Meet Aaron Lazar, Award-Winning Author of “Firesong” and Blogger at Murder by 4

Today, I’m happy and honored to introduce Aaron Lazar.  If you haven’t visited the blog where he writes, http://bit.ly/3nuarh, you’re missing out. Let’s meet Aaron. At the end of the interview, you’ll find a listing of some of his awards. Visit Aaron’s site  at  www.legardemysteries.com

T. Hello, thanks for visiting.  Please give us a bit of background.

A. Hi, Tom. Thanks for having me here today. Here’s a bit about me:

I’ve written fifteen mysteries, of which six are in print and the rest under contract. Five books will be out this year and next, and hopefully a similar amount the following year. The three series are LeGarde Mysteries (10 books), Moore Mysteries (3 books), and Tall Pines Mysteries (2 books). This catching up is difficult! I much preferred it when I simply wrote and didn’t have to worry about getting published or promoting my work.

I’ve always loved mysteries, and grew up with the English cozy authors. My favorite writer of all time, however, is John D. MacDonald. I noticed you also listed him in your bio, Tom. Great man. Great writer.

I live in the Genesee Valley, in the Finger Lakes region of upstate New York with my wife, one of my three daughters, mother-in-law, two dogs, and three cats. Our house is usually full of grandchildren. We have four with one more on the way. I love being a grandfather!

In addition to writing my three mystery series, I’m nuts about gardening, photography, reading, cross country skiing, and taking hikes in our beautiful region.

(Special note, read Aaron’s tribute to John D. McDonald at http://bit.ly/eMlCcB  It’s appropriately titled “Listening to  The Master.”)

T. When did you start writing?

A. I always loved to write, but started in earnest when my father died in 1997 at the young age of 69. He was the eighth person to die in a close circle of family and friends, and it knocked me for a loop. Writing provided the solace I needed, and I’ve been hooked ever since.

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor? Tell us about him/her.

A. I’d have to say John D. MacDonald was my first and favorite teacher, although I never knew him in person. Just reading his Travis McGee series was an education in itself. It’s such a gift – you read for the pure pleasure of his work, and yet in there somewhere you also absorb the intricacies of fine writing, natural dialog, pacing, tension, etc. Of course there were so many other writers who were my teachers: Dean Koontz, Laurie R. King, Dick Francis, Clive Cussler, Rex Stout, Peter Mayle, Tony Hillerman, and others.

T. Please tell us about your current book; genre and blurb.

A. FireSong is the fifth LeGarde Mystery, but readers tell me they can comfortably start the series with this or any of the books. It’s out in eBook format now, and will be in print mid July 2011. Here’s a blurb:

FireSong Synopsis:

What would you do if a rogue tornado hit your church during worship, unearthing the bones of a missing parishioner in a nearby field?

The Genesee Valley is in chaos. The local salt mine collapses. Gas fires burn in wells. Watering holes turn to brine. Crops are dying. Tempers are short. And the new mine lies directly over ancient Indian burial grounds.

Join Gus LeGarde as he’s lured into a bizarre network of underground tunnels to expose the most shocking discovery ever to rock the Genesee Valley.

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?

A. Yes, indeed! Since there are ten books in the LeGarde series (so far) and this one falls in the middle, it’s preceded by many and followed by more. The prequel to FireSong is Mazurka, a European mystery with action in Germany, France, and Austria and a shocking link to a famous 19th century composer. The sequel is, at this time, entitled Virtuoso, which weaves elements of art forgery, music conservatories, opera, and more within its pages.

T. What are your writing habits? Are you an outliner or do you write “by the seat of your pants”?

A. I never outline until I’m done. I know that sounds ridiculous, but I “write like the wind,” and when it’s all over, I sometimes document timing, order, etc with an outline. Usually I approach a book with vague themes in mind, and tie them all together as the story comes out of my head. Oftentimes it wavers in directions I never imagined. My characters can be quite persuasive.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

A. It’s hot. And it’s getting hotter. This year I’ve made more money on eBooks than print books, and I see it gaining with incredible momentum. Two years ago I would have scoffed at the power of eBooks. Today I’m a Kindle aficionado/fan and buy eBooks like I’m buying candy. Constantly. And usually at a helluva good price!

T. Anything else to share?

A. Tom, I want to thank you for your service to our country. We in these great United States of America are free thanks to soldiers like you who preserve our freedom by risking their lives every day. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

Also I wanted to share news I just got – Healey’s Cave (book 1 in Moore Mysteries) just won the category of Commercial Fiction in the Eric Hoffer Book Awards. Quite a moment in this humble author’s life. ;o) It’s nice to be validated once in a while!

T. Thank you for visiting.

A. Thanks for having me here today!

T. Here are some of  Aaron’s awards:

WINNER 2011 Eric Hoffer BEST Book, COMMERCIAL FICTION * GRAND PRIZE FINALIST Eric Hoffer Book Award 2011 * Preditors & Editors Readers Choice Award – 2nd place 2011* Winner of Carolyn Howard Johnsons’ 9th Annual Noble (Not Nobel!) Prize for Literature 2011 *  Finalist Allbooks Editors Choice Awards 2011 * Preditors&Editors Top 10 Finalist  *   Yolanda Renee’s Top Ten Books 2008   *  MYSHELF Top Ten Reads 2008  * Writers’ Digest Top 101 Website Award 2009 & 2010

Responses

  1. Tom, thanks for having me here today. Great fun getting to know you, and I’m looking forward to starting to read your books, as well!

    • Thank you, Aaron, for sharing your writing and your ideas with us. I’m looking forward to continuing the relationship.


Leave a Reply

Categories

