Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | April 19, 2011

Interview with Collaborator/Sisters, “Authors of Children of the Lost Moon”

I’m delighted to introduce you to sisters and co-authors, Tessa Jones and Cheryll Ganzel. Some say it’s particularly difficult for siblings to collaborate in writing because of conflicts. These two ladies have shown that to be false.

Note: Just to keep the actors straight, I’ll be simply “T,” Tessa Jones will be “TJ” and Cheryll Ganzel will be “C.”

T. Hello, please tell us a little about yourselves.

TJ. I have a keen interest in the human psyche and through my writing I explore the various forms of relationships necessary for personal expression of truth. I’ve had several articles and short stories published, generally focused on unusual experiences and relationships, extreme hardship and the endurance of the human spirit.
C. I write articles on Alternative Medicine topics, as well as short stories and flash fiction. Currently I’m working on another Young Adult novel, as well as pursuing cinematography interests.

T. When did you start writing?

TJ. I started writing in 1995. I had an idea for a story and it wouldn’t go away! It invaded every part of my brain. I could almost see the tendrils growing, wrapping around pulsating synapses. I wrote to get it OUT of there!
C. I started writing short stories in high school. Sometimes my fellow students would ask me to write their short story assignments for them. I think the teacher always knew which ones I wrote. If he read any of them in class, he would give me “the look” when he finished.

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor? Tell us about him/her.

TJ. I didn’t have a writing teacher or mentor. I wish I did! It would have been quite helpful. No, I merely lived in my own head, constantly creating stories. What is that saying? “I live in my own little world. But that’s okay, they know me there.” Or something to that effect. Really, it’s the truth!

C. My ninth grade English teacher, Mrs. Kranick, was my favorite teacher of all time. We never opened a book in her class. She would tell us stories of her travels and experiences and then have us write about ourselves and our experiences. She encouraged everyone to write how they felt.

T. Please tell us about your current book: genre and blurb.

TJ/C. Cheryll and I wrote Children of the Lost Moon. It’s a Young Adult Fantasy, about a 17-year-old girl who dreams of holding the Olympic gold medal for saber fencing, only to find out her new fencing coach is not actually human, but the Alpha of a shapeshifter pack. These shapeshifters are the only thing standing between the human race and something else she never knew existed – werewolves. Becoming embroiled in an epic battle between shapeshifters and werewolves can certainly mess up any Olympic gold medal plans. It changes her life in many ways.

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?

TJ/C. We are considering a sequel, and have some pretty cool ideas on where to take it.

T. What are your writing habits? Are you outliners or do you write “by the seat of your pants?”

TJ. It depends on what I’m writing. There are some stories that just spill right out of my head, but others need careful attention to outline, otherwise they they’re all over the place.

C. I used to just write by the seat of my pants, but I am giving outlining a try on my next YA novel. So far I think it is working out very well.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

TJ. I think there’s room for all types of publishing – print as well as digital publishing. Certainly digital publishing has lent itself well to new and promising authors. Hey, if there are people out there who want to read my story, I’ll even consider SKYWRITING it!

C. I think there will always be people who love holding the book in their hands, but I believe digital publishing will continue to become more and more popular.

T. Anything else to share?

TJ. My next project is an historical novel about Ancient Rome. I’m very excited about it, but it’s a frighteningly huge project.

C. My biggest dream right now is to see Children of the Lost Moon on the big screen!!!

T. Thank you.

TJ/C. Thank YOU.

Leave a Reply

Categories

