Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | April 14, 2011

Interview with Dane Batty, Author of “Wanted: Gentleman Bank Robber”

Today I’m happy to welcome Dane Batty to the Blog. He wrote the book about his uncle, who was the “Gentleman Bank Robber.”

T. Hello, please tell us a little about yourself.

D – I live outside of Portland, Oregon with my wife and two small children, and when I’m not marketing the book I’m either spending time with my family or playing golf or racing my motorcycle. My first book Wanted: Gentleman Bank Robber was inside me for years before completion and it is one of my greatest accomplishments. I have my MBA and am looking forward to my career in books!

Check out the book here:
http://www.nishpublishing.com/
http://www.amazon.com/Wanted-Gentleman-Robber-Elusive-Criminals/dp/0615268455

T. When did you start writing?
D – I was a technical writer for years in architecture and manufacturing fields, so when my uncle and I decided to write his biography it was simply another research project dictating his life on paper. I owe a big thanks to my editor who took my good story and turned it into a great read!

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor? Tell us about him/her.
D – I have a favorite inspiration! Right when I began writing the book I saw the movie Blow with Johnny Depp, and this movie inspired me to finish my book. George Jung was the subject of the movie, and while he was in prison he wrote his memoir that became the book and then the movie. I realized this was a similar story to mine just a different industry. So I wrote George in prison, and he gave me a great testimonial for my book which has hooked many good reviews.

T. Please tell us about your current book; genre and blurb.
D – My current book, Wanted: Gentleman Bank Robber is a True Crime Biography. Here’s the blurb:

Leslie Ibsen Rogge, number seven on the FBI’s most wanted, robbed more than 30 banks without firing a shot. In Wanted: Gentleman Bank Robber: The True Story of Leslie Ibsen Rogge, One of the FBI’s Most Elusive Criminals, Les details his adventures from Alaska to Antigua, the Chesapeake to Cancun. But it all came to a halt when a fourteen-year-old in Guatemala found Les on the new FBI web site forcing him to surrender and becoming the 1st Top Ten criminal caught due to the internet. Few felons have been as forthcoming about their successes, failures, robbery techniques, passion for sailing vessels… and love for his wife.

Wanted was a finalist in the Reader Views Literary Book of the Year Awards for 2010 www.readerviews.com/Awards2010Winners.html

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?
D – There will be another edition that will have to happen as people’s witness accounts start to come in. I already have a lead on a few future interviews with people who were involved in the story that didn’t make the original version, so there won’t be a sequel but there will be another edition in the next few years.

T. What are your writing habits? Are you an outliner or do you write “by the seat of your pants?
D – I’m an outliner by nature. I create an outline, and then I fill in the blanks all the while look for inspiration from life around me. I also have a huge creative side which helps me capture real life moments and fill in those blanks and tell other people’s true stories in their voice.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?
D – Although the Wanted print book is still outselling the e-book I am completely embracing digital publishing. With my first release I am avoiding bookstores and selling completely online, and I am gearing up for a blog tour and heavy social networking. Amazon is amazing to work with in my opinion, and it allows me to live my dream and raise my family at the same time without living on the road. Wanted is a book that is perfect for libraries, so I have several public library readings scheduled in the Portland area and more to plan out of state. Marketing to libraries is really the only traditional publishing marketing I am currently still involved with.

T. Anything else to share?
D – Thank you to all who have believed in my story and have made it come alive. There is real talk from several film producers and writers who are interested in the film rights, so I hope my book can give birth to the story on the big screen where a wider audience can see the story. Without the believers the story wouldn’t have ever been born.

T. Thank you.
D – I appreciate the interview!Wanted_1-30-11_Author_Bio_-_Batty

Leave a Reply

Categories

