Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | March 28, 2011

Introducing: Myne Whitman, Author of “A Love Rekindled”

Author Myne Whitman

T. Hello Myne, please give us a bit of biography as an introduction.

MW. Myne Whitman is my pen name. I was born and raised in Enugu, Nigeria, where I spent most of my time, studying, reading and daydreaming or climbing trees and playing with the boys. I have a Master’s degree in Public Health Research but have chosen my childhood dream of spinning stories. After a few years in Edinburgh, Scotland, I now live with my husband in Seattle, WA. I write and blog full-time, and also volunteer as an ESL tutor for a local charity. I critique with the Seattle Eastside Writers Meet-up and I’m also a member of the Pacific Northwest Writers Association.

The Pacific Northwest of America is a great place to live in summer but during the drizzling winter rains, I find myself dreaming of long, hot, Nigerian days and the red palm oil of Banga Soup. A self-confessed adrenaline junkie, I love theme park rides and my wildest ride yet would be the Simpsons at Universal studios, Hollywood. Or maybe it was that reverse bungee jump I did in Scotland, hmm…lol.

In addition to writing popular fiction to get people reading, I am passionate about using the Internet and social media to promote the book industry and literacy levels in Nigeria. To this end, I facilitated a session, “Social Media and the Book Publishing Industry”, for the Publisher’s Forum at the 2010 Garden City Literary Festival, Port Harcourt, Nigeria. I’m also the founder and managing editor of http://www.naijastories.com/, a critique website for aspiring Nigerian writers.

T. When did you start writing?

MW. I have been writing from about 10 years old or so but I started completing and saving my manuscripts from maybe 20. I started with Children’s adventure mysteries and then later moved on to romance.

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor? tell us about him/her.

MW. Not really, since I basically just started writing, and taught myself about the craft from various sources. However, I acknowledge the loads of romance writers whom I read, and other authors too that I admire their work.

T. Please tell us about your current book; genre and blurb.

MW. My current book is A Love Rekindled, a contemporary romance novel.

Efe returns to Nigeria after years in the United States, dreaming of a happy, independent life. However, her nights become plagued by nightmares of Kevwe Mukoro, her ex-fiancé. Long hours at work and drinking in nightclubs only provide temporary relief, and when she encounters Kevwe’s twin brother, she knows it’s a matter of time before Kevwe is back in her life.

Sparks fly when they finally meet again, but desire is no match for bitter memories of heartbreak. All these years, Efe believed she was rejected; now Kevwe claims he’d never stopped loving her. Stuck at a crossroads, Kevwe prefers to look to the future, but Efe is not so sure. Can the traumatic events of the past be resolved, and will she give in to rekindled love?

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?

MW. I have started thinking of a sequel. One of the main characters in ALR is a twin, and I want to give his brother a love of his own. I haven’t started writing yet; it’s all in my head for now.

T. What are your writing habits? Are you an outliner or do you write “by the seat of your pants?

MW. I am usually a plotter. I try to have an outline of all the chapters to include in a manuscript, but after that, it’s freewheeling all the way for the scenes or what could happen.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

MW. I think it will definitely expand the frontiers of the book industry, changing the ways people think about books, and where and how they buy and read it.

T. Anything else to share?

MW. I have to say a big thank you to my readers and fans, and all those who have supported me in one way or the other in my writing journey.

T. Thank you for visiting.

MW. Thank you. It is a great thing that the IAN is doing here and I’m glad to be part of it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

