Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | January 7, 2011

Interview with John Huffman, Author of “America’s Diplomats, The Road to Attleboro”

John is a Vietnam Veteran and has a first-hand perspective on the war, from both the ground and air. I hope you enjoy the interview and his book.

T. Hello, please give us a bit of biography to start.

J. I was born 29 November, 1946, in Hemphill, Texas, the oldest of eight children. I attended elementary school in Pineland, Texas, junior high and high school in Jasper, Texas, and graduated summa cum laude from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.

I enlisted in the Army Airborne in 1966 and served two tours of combat duty in Vietnam, the first as a private, and subsequently a sergeant, with Alpha Company, 1/27th Infantry, 25th Infantry Division, in 1966-67, the second as an officer/aviator with the 120th Aviation Company in 1972-73. I retired as a major in 1986 with three Purple Hearts, three Bronze Stars, sixteen Air Medals, one Army Commendation Medal, two Vietnamese Cross of Gallantry Medals, and various other service and campaign ribbons.

After military retirement, I launched a real estate sales and management company, SouthCorp Properties, Inc., owned seven speedways in five states, created an automobile racing and sanctioning body, the American Racing Association, and developed three touring series.

I received an honorable mention in the Writer’s Journal for a short story contest, published two short stories, The Reincarnate and The Mad Dash, five novels, A Wayward Wind, a Regional General Fiction Finalist in the 2010 Next Generation Indie Book Awards, Tiger Woman, a First Place Winner in the Action-Adventure category of the 2010 Next Generation Indie Book Awards, and The Baron of Clayhill, a finalist in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Awards contest and a 2010 finalist in the Popular Fiction category of the National Indie Excellence Awards. My latest two releases are Above All and Cold Hearts Burning.

I have completed three other novels awaiting publication: America’s Diplomats; Eyes of the BlindSearching For Leah, and I am currently working on When A Rebel Comes Home.

I currently live in Blythewood, South Carolina, with my wife Misty. We have three sons and two granddaughters.

T. When did you start writing?
J.2000

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor?
J. No.

T. Please tell us about your current book.


America’s Diplomats, The Road to Attleboro is a novel based on my first tour in Vietnam in 1966 as an infantryman, which culminated in the largest land battle fought in Vietnam.

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?

J. Yes, I have the outline for the sequel, Eyes of the Blind.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

J. I think it is going to be the book media of the future particularly because the younger generation is more electronically inclined.

T. Anything else to share?

J. Thank you.

Responses

  1. I have read all of John Huffman’s books and found each and every one of them to be more surprising than the other. John’s story telling puts you right in the scene. You can feel his characters and feel like you are part of his books.
    I get excited and feel I want to go to the end and cheat because I know he has a trick up his sleeve in every book. YOU will never figure out where and how he finds the imagination to make each book great.
    Buy each one and step into the imagination of one who has been there and done that.

  2. Great books by a self made man, born poor and with little confidence in himself, John flew on the wings of eagles and made his mark in life very young. John is a old time boy with the reputation for putting up with nothing from no one and carried that attitude into the future.
    As a former classmate I can tell you anything he got out of life he went forward with a positive attitude and built himself. His record alone speaks for itself. I am proud to know he is one of the class mates who showed the world how it was done.
    As a veteran he has delt with the war for all these years, because it does not go away. Writing these books will be a part of history for the ones like me who always needed an explanation for the Vietnam war. If you have a family member who “served” in the war, please read these books.

  3. The first John Huffman book I read was Wayward Wind. It was a book I didn’t want to put down because I wanted to see what would happen next. It was as if I were a part of the book. Then I read Above All, The Baron of Clayhill, & Tiger Woman. Each book is captivating and a hard to put down novel. John captures you into his books and keeps you wanting to read to the end at one sitting. I am excited about starting Cold Hearts Burning, and anticipating the release of his other books. John is a brilliant story teller.
    John is also a true American Hero for his service in the military for his country. I don’t think he has been recognized as the war hero he is. I believe each of these books are a piece of John’s life and are truly written from the heart. His awards are richly deserved, as are his military medals.


Leave a Reply

Categories

