Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | October 22, 2010

Interview with Phyllis Glisson

Today we’re interviewing Phyllis Glisson of Savannah, GA. She is the author of “Her Sanctuary.” I’ll let her tell you about her background and the book.

Thomas

T. Hello, Phyllis, please give us a bit of biography to start.

P. I was born in Savannah, Georgia and grew up in Garden City, a sub-city of Savannah. I attended public school until my Sophomore year when I transferred to Savannah Christian Prep School where I graduated in 1977. After graduating, I went to work on my career, during which time I met my husband-to-be on a blind date. We have been together for 31 years, married 29 of those. I am the mother of one extremely talented 22-year-old daughter. I’d always been a career woman. I had worked in the banking industry off and on for 17 yrs. In the last job I had, I was working as office manager for a land development/contractor company.

T. When did you start writing?

P. I worked 6 1/2 years at my last job until May 2008, when the housing slump left me without a job for the first time in many years. I had to find something to occupy my time, so one day I picked up my daughter’s paints, unexpectedly discovering a talent I never knew I had. I made a little money painting pictures (photobucket.com/phyllis959) and doing commissioned work until I just needed a break. My daughter was visiting one day and we were brainstorming ideas for a novel. She was the writer, not me, when the idea for Her Sanctuary came to me. I told her about it and we decided to try to write it together. Unfortunately, due to personal issues, she couldn’t proceed so I went on without her. I really have to chalk it up to “divine inspiration,” since I have no idea where it came from. There were times I would write until the wee hours of the morning.

T.  Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor?

P.  No, I never had a teacher whose writing I admired, but I did have an English Teacher at Savannah Christian who told me I had talent after he had given us an assignment to write a short story. I, never one to follow directions well, felt compelled to write a one-act play instead. He told me it was really good but that he was finding it hard to grade. I ended up with an 80%, which is a “B”, and an invitation to join the writers’ club. I wanted to accept but my plate was full. Not being the best student, I had to concentrate on getting passing grades so I could graduate, so, I turned him down. It was probably a huge mistake but we all make them, right? There wasn’t a mentor, but I’ve always admired the writings of Stephen King. He’s truly the master of the macabre.

T.  Please tell us about your current book.

P.  Her Sanctuary is an adult/romance mystery that is set in the fictional town of Sanctuary, Arizona bordering an Indian reservation. Shannon Mallory is a woman who has managed to escape a ten-year loveless/abusive marriage. After buying an RV, for three years she sets out to do all the things she was never allowed to do before. She ends up outside the Last Resort Café where she answers the “Help Wanted” sign. She locks eyes with Seth Proudfoot, the half-breed outcast loner who’s been accused, and acquitted, of murdering his wife and small child. The chemistry is immediate, as the soul mates finally find happiness in each other’s arms. But, happily-ever-after comes at a price. There are deeply buried secrets that, when revealed, will answer the questions that have haunted Seth’s guilt-ridden heart for three years. But by revealing the truth, he could end up losing his soul mate in the process.

T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?

P. You know, it’s funny you ask that. I have had several readers beg for a sequel, but after some serious soul searching, I’m thinking of going back…back to when Seth was growing up on the reservation. Yeah, I think I might just do that.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

P.I think it’s a wonderful way for potentially unheard of talent to receive the proper attention their work deserves. I also think it would be not so good in that it makes it available for some not so talented would-be writers to swamp the online bookstores with inferior products. It’s kind of like everyone having access to You Tube. Some of the talent is amazing…some is well, pretty lame. I don’t want to speak ill of anyone’s writing skills, it’s just that if it were possible, there should be some way to weed out the really bad ones, you know?
On the other hand, I may read a book or two on the net, but I still enjoy the feel of a bound book in my hands.

T. Anything else to share?

P. I would just like to thank all the people who supported me through the writing process: My husband, my daughter, and my friends. I would also like to give a special thank you to all my fans and the other authors (Jennifer Murgia in particular) I’ve met on goodreads.com, who were gracious enough to take my hand and lead me gently into the world of writing. I’m finally home.

T. Thank you for visiting and telling us about Her Sanctuary.

P. Thank you for having me and please check out the book.

Leave a Reply

Categories

