Posted by: Thomas Drinkard | July 26, 2012

Meet Fantasy Author Gary Vanucci of The Skulldust Circle

T. Hello Gary, welcome to Pinnacle Writing. Tell us a bit about yourself. When did you start writing?

G. I started initially in 1999 with a sci-fi novel I started and then gave up on. Then I picked up writing fantasy again in 2010. And here I am today

T. Was there a favorite writing teacher or mentor? Tell us about him/her.

G. I actually learned by reading. I aspire to write like all of the classic fantasy authors, especially R. A. Salvatore, whom I enjoy thoroughly.

 T. Please tell us about your current book. What is the genre?  Give us a thumbnail sketch.

G. I am currently working on my third full length novel in my series and have a short story for an anthology finished that is awaiting others for collaboration. That is for my writer’s circle: Skulldust Circle. My third novel in the Beginnings trilogy is tentatively entitled ‘Dance of Deceit’, but is subject to change! The genre is epic or high fantasy. My books focus on a group of adventurers that come right out of a typical fantasy role- playing game, except that I give them depth, feelings and rich history…or at least I hope I do.

 T. Do you have a sequel or prequel in mind or in progress?

G. Other projects? Yes, I plan on doing at least 6 books in this current storyline and then have ideas for several more novels, all in the fantasy genre and quite possibly all in the Realm of Ashenclaw.

T. What are your writing habits? Are you an outliner or do you write “by the seat of your pants?

G. I write outlines now because I have to! I need to know where the story is going so I give myself a few sentences on what I want to accomplish in each chapter. As for the writing, I never know what is going to happen from one page to the next. Sometimes I surprise myself.

T. What are your ideas about the future of digital publishing?

G. It’s here to stay, just hard to get noticed with so many authors coming and going. I’m all for it though.

 T. Anything else to share?

G. Just that I treasure new readers, ones who have shared in my world and experienced what I have to share. I am truly grateful for any and all support.

 T. Thank you for visiting, it’s been a pleasure to meet you.

G. Thanks for having me, Tom! I appreciate you having me on here. I’d also like to ask people to stop by SkulldustCircle.blogspot.com to see some of the best fantasy going these days if you get the chance! All the best.

Here’s a blurb on my novel, Covenant of the Faceless Knights: Set in an original fantasy setting entitled the Realm of Ashenclaw, Covenant of the Faceless Knights: Beginnings, is an epic fantasy tale wherein a group of eclectic heroes are charged with recovering an ancient and deadly artifact. They must overcome not only their foes, but in some cases, their own emotional baggage in order to succeed.

Responses

  1. Great interview! Nice to get to know you better, Gary! Thanks Thomas!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

